Trump announces new travel restrictions

“Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.” Donald Trump tweeted just after his administration released the details of the new restrictions Sunday night.  The new travel restrictions applies on citizens from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad, expanding to eight the list of countries covered by his original travel bans that have been challenged by critics and also in court. The addition of North Korea and Venezuela widens the restrictions from the original, mostly Muslim-majority countries.

White House called the new restrictions a “critical step toward establishing an immigration system that protects Americans’ safety and security in an era of dangerous terrorism and transnational crime.”

In most cases, travel will be broadly suspended, while in other cases, travelers will have to go through enhanced screening and vetting requirements. For example, foreign nationals from North Korea are banned, while a student from Iran will be allowed in but will be subject to “enhanced screening and vetting requirements.”